Marakesh Harira

Good evening my dears, I want to thank you for being inspiring to me and sharing my blog with those you love! I apologize for my abrupt silence! It has been a busy month, and I have missed you so and have so much to share, I will update you in my next post though and would like to share with you this recipe of my take on Moroccan Harira as my first post of January!
Its rainy and cold, feels like a perfect day to celebrate Moroccan culture this evening with your family! Try out my version of HARIRA!
Harira is a beautiful red color, full of flavor and is spicy, just how I LOVE IT!
It is a blessing to share cultural awareness with your family, this is an opportunity to inspire one another, spark conversation and motivate us to learn more about our own cultures.
 Marakesh’s Harira
3 tbl olive oil
10 oz tomatoes
1 yellow onion
1 c lentils
6 c water
1 c mushrooms
1 c zucchini
1 c eggplant
3 cloves garlic
1 bunch cilantro
1/2 bunch parsley
1/2 c quinoa
2 yellow bell pepper
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp paprika
2 tsp cumin
1 chile pepper
2 tsp coriander
1/4 tsp caraway seeds
5 scallions
Add water, olive oil and seasonings to a large pot, let simmer for 20 minutes, add lentils and quinoa, cook for 20 – 30 more minutes.
Remove from heat covered.
Chop up all vegetables, adding all except scallions, parsley and cilantro to pot. Recover.
When ready to serve, add Harira to bowls and sprinkle with cilantro, parsley and scallion mixture.
Serve with orange or lemon slices.
Tell me what you think...

