Nutrition Thought: Day two

How often do you listen to your body?

I have to admit, many times in the huslte and bustle of life I have forgotten to listen to what my body wants, sometimes it has been in the form of drinking enough water, going outside and taking some deep breaths walking and communing with the trees, clouds and rain drops as most certainly I have had many times when I forgot how to calm myself and refocus when it was very necessary…Is this just me? I hope not, but if it is, that’s cool too. So, just in case you have been there or are there, I would like to share some of my ideas with you.

LISTEN TO YOUR BODY, YOUR BODY WILL TELL YOU WHAT’S RIGHT FOR IT TO TAKE IN!

 

My share times with you:

 

wpid-IMAG0300.jpg

 

Eating greens, cabbage, bananas, beans and lentils, nuts and seeds, drinking plenty of water and eating a variety of colors in each meal works magnificently for me!

My body thrives off of greens, I feel a sense of clarity and overall happienss, its something in the greens that make me feel popeyeish, you know, just strong, excited, rejuvenated and energized, so I eat lots of greens each meal.

I also enjoy bananas, but I am more into smoothies when I choose to eat my bananas and my favorite way to eat them is with cacao and almond butter with some milk…yumm!!!

 

wpid-IMAG0983.jpg

 

For me, beans and lentils are a daily thing for me, it is one of my favorite ways to gain protein. My favorites are Fava Beans, Lentils, Chia Seeds and Black Beans, most always in this order! It is something about the flavor and the power I feel afterwards! What are your favorite beans and seeds?

Water, oh my, when I was younger I was able to drink water and tea and since then I have enjoyed it so much!!! No matter whether it is warm or ice water, tea or with fruit added, either way, I adore water and drink it all the time. I even can feel when I am dehydrated, you know the feeling that your hands or feet feel slightly swollen, lips peel, scalp peels and face looks dry, yuck! So, I try to drink as much as I can, which I get about 1/2 to one gallon, which is good for my body, but it is different for everyone. Safely I believe 10 8 oz glasses is a great start. If it is challenging for you to drink water, I recommend adding herbs and fruit, like lemons, watermelon, oranges, limes, etc. How much do you love?

When I eat each meal I enjoy lots of colors, mostly I have oranges, reds, greens, browns, and yellows. My favorite salad is a purple cabbage salad with carrots, yellow bell peppers, radishes, green beans, and pecans, then I drizzle it with a dressing I create. Mainly, I eat raw, but sometimes I choose to eat cooked food. I love raw foods, because I get all the nutrients and enzymes as well as feel so healthy and filled afterwards,  but when I eat cooked its usually if I choose to semi cook beans, lentils, black or brown rice (which I completely cook) and add them to a salad.  Here is one of my favorite dressing recipes: Strawberry Cumin Dressing

1269918283539

 

1/2 c olive oil

1/2 c strawberry puree

2 tbl lemon or orange  vinegar

2 tsp cumin

1 tsp no salt seasoning

1/4 tsp chili pepper flakes

 

Add all ingredients to jar with twist top, place top on jar and twist on. Shake until combined. Taste and add more seasonings if necessary. Add to any combination of greens. Enjoy

 

Love and Light,

Ariel

 

Tell me what you think...

