Gluten-Free Week Day 6: Dinner

wpid-20130715_161356.jpg

It’s interesting how busy we can get, always on the go, moving and shaking, thinking and doing, focusing and overdoing things. So often we push so fast through life, in this microwave lifestyle that we live, believing that resting is not righteous and the we must multi-task at all times. Well, about a year ago, I realized that I was doing this, moving all the time, always trying to get my daily to do lists completed before I go to bed and if I didn’t there was something wrong…I wasn’t working hard enough, fast enough or motivated enough. Then one evening after a meeting, the two people I had met with suggested going to listen to some music and going salsa. Now, me being me, I couldn’t justify doing anything fun because I still had so much to do and had not achieved a certain set of goal completions. Well, asked and asked and asked and I finally gave in, because deep down I wanted to go and have some fun.

So, my learning lesson from going with them, listening to this amazing latin band and learning to salsa taught me a very valuable lesson, that having fun, stepping out of the hustle and bustle of BEING A BUSINESS is mandatory, because this helps to keep me grounded, present and aware of myself, my joy and love for the passion that I felt like I couldn’t step away from to just enjoy life. So, what I did, is I began to bring this into my daily experiences, through food. When I eat now, instead of reading a book, working on my laptop, I sit with my food, and enjoy it, many times looking out the window or just in silence. This has made all the difference, so much so that now I am observing the renewal of being balanced, organized and the truth in self-care.

I encourage you to do this for yourself, if it means taking a week to observe what your health needs are with your food intake, taking up a new outdoor activity to get your blood flowing regularly or just sitting in silence and staring out the window or into the sky, I encourage you to do this, it makes all the difference. Enjoy this dinner recipe, as you end Day 6 of Gluten-Free Week.

20131129-193252.jpg

Black Bean and Sweet Potato Soup

1 Large Sweet Potato

2 c Black Beans, soaked and drained

1 medium Onion, chopped

3 Stalks Celery, washed and chopped

3 Cloves Garlic, Chopped

2 Orange Bell Peppers, seeded and chopped

2 tbl Olive OIl

2 tbl Cumin

1 tbl Coriander

1 tsp Smoked Paprika

2 Carrots, washed, peel and chopped

4.5 c Vegetable Broth

3 Ancho Chiles, soaked and chopped (keep Chile water)

3 Limes, juiced and 1 zested

1 c Cilantro, Chopped

Add black beans to a large pot, with vegetable broth, cook covered on medium for 15 minutes, add chopped carrots and cook for an additional 10-15 minutes or until beans are softened.

Next, Put Sweet Potato on Sheet Pan and bake for 30 minutes on 425. While Sweet Potatoes are baking, Wash remaining vegetables, using a clean cutting board and chef knife or your knife of choice, cut vegetables. Add olive oil to large pan, sauté vegetables for five minutes. Add to beans. Once Sweet Potatoes are cooked, remove, from oven, let cool for five minutes, then peel away from skin. In a small bowl, mash sweet potato, adding Chiles and Chile water, add to soup. Stir until combined. Enjoy with chopped Cilantro and lime zest sprinkled on top.

Enjoy and Savor all the flavors!

Tell me what you think...

