Simple and Healthy: Citrus

Transform your meal planning experience with citrus!

Kite Flyer

I love the way an orange segment pops in my mouth with that first bite, juicy, sweet and tangy all at the same time…what excitement and an explosion of flavors that salsa on your taste buds! Citrus fruits are so healthy, flavorful and rich in vitamins and minerals. Why is citrus so important in our meals?

Citrus fruits are full of vitamins C, A, Fiber, Potassium, Folate, Citrate, Calcium, Magnesium and a host of antioxidants, which aid in lowering cholesterol and lowers your insulin levels making you feel less hungry, metabolizes fats and carbohydrates.

A few of my favorite BOOM POW citrus’:

Clementine: I like to enjoy these morsels freshly juiced, as well as freshly peeled, puree and combined with a 1 tsp ginger, 1 pinch black pepper and ½ c soaked then pureed apricots. Freeze and enjoy when I want a cool treat on a warm day.

Meyer Lemons: I must confess that I LOVE LOVE LOVE to eat lemons. Now, Meyer’s the first time I tried these, my neighbor brought me some from her bush, I took a bite and it was sweet and tangy, instantly in love! So, naturally I like to use these little bright dreamies in my rawNOLA’s, Squash Noodle dishes, and I recently made Lemon cookies. If you would like to try them all you need is ½ c almonds, ½ c sunflower seeds, ½ c sesame seeds, 1 banana, 1 tbl Almond Oil, 2 tbl Coconut Oil, ½ c coconut flakes and juice of ½ Meyer Lemon and its zest. Puree in food processor. Roll into balls and press down with your CLEAN thumb. Enjoy and refrigerate what you don’t eat!

Limes: Oh my, when I think of Limes, I think of Arepas, Pupusas and Roti, ahhh, that means that Limes make me want carbs, breads and things, but damn it those are awesome comfort street foods that those dearly to me, have openly and lovingly shared with me. One of my favorite ways to enjoy limes and South American cultural dishes is PUPUSA’S! Yaaaoooowwwza! Ok, so Pupusa’s, how do I love thee, I love to make these little masa cakes with cumin, pineapple vinegar, oregano and poblano pepper grounds, mix it with water, just until it can be formed into balls (not too moist and not too dry), then add some shredded yellow squash, diced onions, chopped jalapeno’s, diced garlic and 2 limes juiced and mixed in a bowl. Add a tablespoon of the mixture into the masa. Then fold the masa over the vegetables, formed into a patty and cooked on a griddle. Now, I recommend that you research about the culture of Pupusa’s, how to make them and definitely, definitely, go to an El Salvadoran restaurant and try every Pupusa they have with Curtido and pepper sauce! OOOOOWWWWWW!

Kumquat: Now Kumquats, my first discovery of Kumquats, in 1998, I became Vegan and went to Pike Place Market and was offered a sample, I ate the entire little oval of happiness and since then, when I am blessed to enjoy them, I ENNNNJJJOOOOYYYY!!!! Eat these lovelies fresh, however, I am a believer in washing EVERYTHING that I am going to eat, it’s a habit and I do it and then the yumminess commences! You can make syrup out of it, a juice; add onto a dark green salad or anything that you love for a tangy twist to add that something special you LOVE with in your food, mmmm!

Tangerine: I like to enjoy a Tangerine with candied Brazil nuts, in a Collard wrap with Arugula, Bok Choy, Caramelized Onions, Golden Beets and Brazil Nut Tangy Cheeze!

ENJOY ENJOY ENJOY! Remember when creating recipes that citrus fruits are very versatile, in that you can add them to a salad, make a dressing, use in place of salt, enhance the nutrients that you are receiving by eating them regularly, help prevent infections, increases your body’s ability to retain collagen, goes to war with those pesky free radicals that can damage our body’s cells and tissues, and increase your body’s ability to absorb iron when you enjoy citrus fruits with beans and grains. So, now you know how amazing these little tart segmented morsels are you can freely.

 

Love and Light,

A

Tell me what you think...

